Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

Looking for Company

Sometimes, maybe most of the time, the universe whispers in your ear and you think, “No, not me.  You got the wrong person.  It’s too big.  I don’t know how.  It’s scary – hard – too much work.  No way!  I’m telling you, you’ve got the wrong person.”

You busy yourself with work and play.  You hope your noisy routine will drown out the little voice that keeps saying “Yeah, it IS you and it is time to GET TO WORK.”  Well, that’s how it has been for me for the last year and half.

Around the holidays 2008, two friends had children diagnosed with life threatening diseases, one with Leukemia and the other with Aplastic Anemia.   I was inspired by the generous out pouring of community as people came together to show support, raise funds and find bone marrow donors.  It was sooo big.  For me, far away in the Big Apple, life was sooo small.

The summer of 2009, I had the amazing experience of directing for Perseverance Theatre’s STAR program in Juneau, Alaska.  I was surrounded by wonder, awesome and powerful beauty.  It was quite an awakening.  Those whisperings, I mentioned, started here.  I heard it in the rustling of the leaves as I walked along a mountain path, in the sounding of a humpback whale, in my own voice as it echoed back my song, in an ice cave.

When I returned to my tiny. little Big Apple I was forever changed.  Those whisperings would not be drowned out by the hustle and bustle of the Manhattan streets.  I desperately wanted to be connected to the bigger picture.  I knew that I wanted to help change the world.  I was sure that I could do that through the performing arts and I was equally sure that I was not alone.

With that, Community Stages (CS) was born.  CS, is a pending nonprofit, that connects professional performing artists and directors with communities looking for meaningful and unique ways to raise funds and awareness for the community’s chosen charity.

I’ve been laying the foundation for months, with the help of some fantastic people.  CS is gaining ground with great generosity from artists and potential charity sponsors.  We are well on our way.  The road before us is long and full of challenges.  But, I believe we are nudged onto the paths we are meant to take.  I know that there are great rewards ahead.

I’m so excited about this journey, friends!  I hope that you will be part of it too.  I could use your company!

Auke Bay at Sunrise

Comments on: "Looking for Company" (4)

  1. I am so excited for you Terry Lynn! And for Community Stages. What an exciting adventure.

  2. This is such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

