Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

Monkey Business!

Saturday was a big day! I had an interview with the fabulous Garreffi family. AJ Garreffi, now 10 years old, was diagnosed with Aplastic Anemia in January 2009. The journey of the Garreffi’s was a large part of the inspiration that led me to creating Community Stages.

I arrived just after 4 PM. The lovely Madisyn, 6 years old, greeted me at the car. She had new sneakers on and was eager for me to meet the puppy, Puddles, before getting to the door.

Inside, Stephanie bounced sweet 6 month old Cole on her hip. Steph and I have known one another since we were Maddy’s age. It was a rather strange realization!

Bounding into the kitchen, came the man of the hour, AJ! Everyone was so excited to have company. I saw bedrooms, inventions, pieces of Halloween costumes and then the fun really began. In the basement we, quite literally “monkeyed around” for hours! I had such a great time!

When we finally sat down to business, everyone had wonderful things to share. I learned so much about Aplastic Anemia and even more importantly, how it affects family’s like the Garreffis.

There is so much to share with you all. Sorry,  I have to sit down and go through the recordings of our discussion.

But I can share this with you now:
While discussing their Make A Wish Trip, A Cruise of Europe:
Maddy: You do NOT want to go to France.
AJ: Shhh. That’s not for the recorder to hear!

Oh, these kids! LOVE THEM.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Comments on: "Monkey Business!" (4)

  1. Susan Chiola-Sykes said:

    LOVED hearing about your day with Stephanie and family ~ only wish I was there to share it with you!! xoxo ~

  2. Stephanie Garreffi said:

    The kids had such a great time with you Terry, they keep asking when you’re coming back!! LOL I can’t thank you enough for what you are doing. You have started an amazing organization and I’m am thrilled you have chosen us to be a part of it!

    • Oh that is great news. I’m looking forward to seeing them again soon! You all are amazing and I’m honored that Community Stages is partnering with you all! You are an inspiration. What a great job you are doing.

Leave a Reply

