Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

Being In It

The “work week” doesn’t typically take traditional form in my life. As a performing artist, you often have to work any and, quite often, every day of the week.  Add Community Stages to the usual equation and I can’t remember the last day I didn’t work a whole lot more than eight hours, somewhere on something.

It’s great!  I love it!  I’m so energized by the work that I’m doing, I wouldn’t have it any other way…

But today!  Today felt like the worst kind of “Manic Monday”. I have three huge things pressing on me this week.

  • Tons of homework for my business class, Tuesday
  • The God in Art service I’m putting together for my church, Thursday
  • Organizing all the crafts for The Community Stages Marketplace, Saturday

I seriously did not want to get out of bed.  Okay, that’s not true, I wanted to get out of bed to eat junk.  Breakfast – cream puffs – CHECK!  Lunch – left over, cold pizza – CHECK! Dinner – Chinese – CHECK!  Between each “meal” a nap – CHECK! CHECK! CHECK!

Of course that’s not how the day really played out. I did get up and I worked and worked and worked for hours.   Problem is, I didn’t like a single thing I had “created”.  I kept saying “go out for a walk, you need a walk”.  I even got up and put my running clothes on, sneaks too.

Finally by 3:30 I realized I had nothing to show for all the time and energy I’d expended.  So out for a walk I went.  Inwood Hill Park is in STUNNING color!  Walking down a trail I happened upon a juvenile hawk sitting on a bare branch, enjoying the view, like me.  I exchange pleasantries with other hikers stopped to admire the bird.

I climbed a tree near the salt flats and watched a heron perched on a discarded tire.  Sad, yes, but strangely beautiful.

Lastly, I came across a girl, maybe eight years old.  She had a camera phone and she was trying to take a picture of her mom and little sister on the green lawns with the leaves all around.  I offered to take a picture of the three of them.  They were thrilled.  Mom beamed at her girls as they took their “places”.  The picture was beautiful – the love in the eyes of these gals – so sweet.  They thanked me and as I walked away the little sister shouted “I really love this picture!”.  I turned, smiled and said “I’m so glad! I do to!”

As I walked out of the park and back towards my “office” I was reminded that my purpose in life is to build community. And so, I need to be out in it.  Not just to be able to do something for it but to be inspired by it.

Autumn in Inwood Hill Park 2009

Leave a Reply

