Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

Don’t Just Be…Do

Thanksgiving Day comes, by statute, once a year; to the honest man it comes as frequently as the heart of gratitude will allow.  – Edward Sandford Martin

I awoke this morning with Thanksgiving on my mind.  It has been at least five years since my husband and I had more than Thursday off.  Our schedules had become so hectic and our family lived at least several hours away.  So, our Thanksgiving tradition had become, watching the Macy’s Day parade from the warmth of our apartment and having a turkey dinner at our favorite upper-Manhattan restaurant.  We have a few days off this year and so we are headed to my Mom’s house.

We won’t be doing the traditionally turkey thing this Thanksgiving.  Actually my mom hates it, the meal not the day.  My mom never curses.  BUT, she used to curse twice a year; dealing with the turkey on Thanksgiving and putting up the Christmas tree.  As soon as her kids were old enough to handle the Christmas tree, holiday decorating became Mom’s favorite activity of the year.

Now that there is a Cracker Barrel just over an hour from her house, Thanksgiving stock has rose dramatically, as well! Yes, we will be having Thanksgiving dinner at the Cracker Barrel!  Suits us fine, everyone can order what they want and no one has to clean up.  Two things of which to be grateful!

Speaking of gratitude…

Thanksgiving, after all, is a word of action. – W.J. Cameron

This morning, that quote struck me as a CALL to ACTION.

I am thankful for so many things.  Surely, there is merit in making gratitude lists.  Perhaps there is greater merit in a Thanksgiving call to action; that reaches far beyond Thursday.

I will:

  • express my gratitude through word and deed
  • show love and compassion to my neighbors, family and friends
  • give as generously as I receive
  • thank God for the blessings she pours down on me
  • remember…

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. – John F. Kennedy


Leave a Reply

