Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

It’s a New Day!

Happy New Year Everyone!

Do you get caught up in the “New Year, New You” mentality?  In years past, I did.  I loved making resolutions. I’m not sure why, but I can’t remember ever really beating myself up for not following through with them. Of course, I never had a big vice I was trying to give up.  Maybe my resolutions were never high-stakes enough!

That’s not to say I haven’t altered the course of my life, I have.  Many years ago, I became a Weight Watcher.  I even spent a couple of very rewarding years, working as a WW Leader.  Yes I know, just like any good weight loss company WW is capitalizing on the annual self-improvement craze.  But year round they have great tools for life.   In fact, they are called Tools for Living!

Instead of a New Year’s Resolution, I’m a firm believer in the Winning Outcome.  Here’s how it works:  It is a GOAL that is

  • Positive – focus on what you want instead of what you don’t want
  • Specific – state exactly what you want
  • Within your control – something you can do without needing others to change
  • A good fit with your life – the changes required should be things that you really can do

The last thing I really like about setting Winning Outcomes versus New Year’s Resolutions is that you can work towards it every day.  Even if the day before wasn’t your biggest success, or even the moment before.  Each moment can be the new start.

So when you think of the standard resolution consider this quote by Mark Twain:

“New Year’s Day:  Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions.  Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.”

Resolution: Make no more resolutions

Leave a Reply

