Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

The most dangerous moment in any story is the beginning.

As the story opens, every ending is equally possible, every path unwalked, every question not only unanswered, but unasked.

The unread story is infinite possibility. Yet the ending is already written, and though you be clever, though you be brave, there is no outwitting it.

Are you brave enough to begin? If so, turn to page 1. If not, remain safe. Close the book and return it to the shelf. No one will think any less of you.  ~ Choose Your Own Adventure  By: Kat Howard

I loved to read Choose Your Own Adventures books when I was a kid.  If yes, turn to page so and so, if no turn to page such and such.    I don’t remember reading all the options before choosing, but knowing me now…

******************************************************************************

I think of myself as a patient person.  As a director, I prioritize process over product.  As an adventurer, I appreciate the discovery of beauty all along the  journey.  On Christmas morning, I can wait till a civilized hour before getting up to open presents. Really, I can!

However, in the recent months I’ve found myself more and more wrapped up in endings.   Not that I want things TO end but that I want to know how things WILL end.  I’m not interested in skipping the hard stuff, I think I understand what pain is worth.   I just would like some reassurance that I’m on the right path.

It would be fantastic if a scroll that scripted out the final scenes of everything important, just fell from the sky.  The “how” could be left to improvisation but a well-defined, clear ending would await the fall of the curtain.

OR PERHAPS…

After each Turn the page to such and such, a voice could call out “Brrrrr….it’s getting cold out here….Man you are in a DEEP FREEZE!”.  Or  “You’re getting warmer …hot, HOT!    H-O-T!!…YOU’RE on FIRE!”  I don’t mean that little inner voice that I  do my best to ignore, I mean a voice of authority, one that can’t be shhhhh-ed.  I wouldn’t even mind if other people could hear it.  In fact, it would be better if they could, then no one could question my turns!  “Sorry.  You heard THE voice too!” I’d say with glee!

I went to a networking breakfast this morning and talked with a gentleman about this idea. He said simply “Those voices exist.  They’re the little victories we achieve.  We get so caught up that we miss the everyday miracles that tell us we’re on the right track.”

Aren’t constant road blocks and familiar dead ends equally telling?

Sunday my Pastor said, “God is in the in between.”

Though these insights haven’t given me the absolute clarity I’m longing for, I suppose they do serve as good reminders.  It takes courage and faith to write your story.  Beginnings, middles AND ends all have their own challenges.  But, there is guidance along the way if you are wise enough, quiet enough, still enough to watch and listen for it.

**********************************************************************************

I loved to read Choose Your Own Adventures books when I was a kid.  If yes, turn to page so and so, if no turn to page such and such.    I don’t remember reading all the options before choosing, but knowing me now…I’m sure that’s exactly what I did!

Comments on: "Brrrrrrr….You’re Getting Warmer!" (1)

  1. PB’s sermon was really good this past Sunday.

Leave a Reply

