Spotlighting What Matters Most to You™

If you have been with me on this journey since the inception of CS two years ago, you probably have noticed a pretty big change in our vision.  That’s true but our mission remains, at heart, the same:  change the world through the transformative power of the performing arts.   I’ll briefly explain the evolution…

The universe was speaking and I wasn’t listening…

  • NY State insisted that Community Stages was a fundraising company.  I insisted it was a performing arts organization where fundraising was a side benefit.
  • Most every business savvy person I networked with said “Great!  But how are you going to make money?”
  • Potential clients were convinced that the only way to fund raise was to put on big, flashy, expensive shows and charge a lot of money for tickets.

I started to get the message…

  • This year I’ve been very fortunate to create theater arts programming for several communities through the five boroughs of NYC.  I’ve been keenly reminded of our youth’s need for the arts and the absolute lack of accessibility there is to it for so many.
  • Program directors, across the board, have raved about the quality of my work and commended me for  my “above and beyond” commitment to the youth.  They have also been very forthcoming about the challenges they are facing and what they need to achieve their goals.
  • My passion for this work has been reignited.  I am energized and directed. The universe is bringing like minded artists to my side.

As we begin to solidify our initial program offerings, you will see that this isn’t a complete departure.  In fact, where there is time and interest Community Stages will be able to create benefits to raise awareness and funds for the community’s chosen cause…it just won’t be the only thing we do!  Our commitment to CS’ 2012 Community Spotlight, The Aplastic Anemia & MDS Foundation remains in place.  We’re actually putting together a benefit in Juneau, Alaska this July.

Thank you for your continued support.  Please be in touch if you have thoughts, questions, concerns or would like to find out how to get involved!

All my best,

Terry Lynn LeCompte
Founder and Director of Community Stages 

Leave a Reply

